CAD Society Seeks Nominations for 2008 Awards

15 Jan, 2008

Honors in three categories recognize individual contributions within the CAD and engineering software industry.

The CAD Society announced on Monday that the organization is accepting nominations for the 2008 CAD Society Industry Awards. CAD Society Awards acknowledge individual contributions within the CAD and engineering software industry.

"The three awards the CAD Society present every year [are] our way of recognizing those who have contributed to the CAD/CAM industry in various ways," said Mike McGrath, president of The CAD Society. "We are looking forward to hearing what the community has to say when they help us select the 2008 nominees."

The CAD Society present awards in three categories:

    Leadership Award: For outstanding technical and business leadership in the CAD industry, and focus and dedication to the needs of CAD users. Jay Sunyogh was the 2007 recipient of the Leadership award. Other past award recipients include Dana K. "Deke" Smith, Robert McNeel, Tony Affuso, Tom Butta, Jon Hirschtick, and Bernard Charles.

    Joe Greco Community Award: For outstanding work in improving communication and developing community within the CAD industry. Sean Dotson was the 2007 recipient of the Community award. Some other past award recipients are Chris Yessios, Lynn Allen, Randall Rath, C.J. Shirk, Kristine Fallon, and Ralph Grabowski.

    Lifetime Award: For a lifetime of outstanding technical and business contributions to the CAD industry. Dean Kamen was the 2007 recipient of the Lifetime award. Other past award recipients include Russell F. Henke, Ken Versprille, L. Stephen Wolfe, Carl Machover, Dr. Joel Orr, and Patrick Hanratty.

CAD Society board members will review all nominations on March 1, 2008, and will determine the award winners for each of the three categories. Nominations should be e-mailed and will be accepted through February 28.

The recipients of the awards will be announced on the CAD Society Web site prior to Congress On the Future of Engineering Software (COFES 2008). The awards will be presented at COFES 2008, held April 10-13, 2008, in Scottsdale, Arizona.

AutoCAD Tips!

Lynn Allen

In her easy-to-follow, friendly style, long-time Cadalyst contributing editor and Autodesk Technical Evangelist Lynn Allen guides you through a new feature or time-saving trick in every episode of her popular AutoCAD video tips. Subscribe to the free Cadalyst Video Picks newsletter and we'll notify you every time a new video tip is published. All exclusively from Cadalyst!

Follow Lynn on TwitterFollow Lynn on Twitter

Download Cadalyst Magazine Special Edition